Nail Idea: Bonfire Night

14962332_10209478853482284_11857373_n

I’ve had quite a few attempts at firework nails over various bonfire nights and New Year’s Eves, but I think I’ve finally found quite an easy way of making them look pretty.

When painting my nails dark colours, I prefer to cut them quite short first to prevent them looking too claw-like (however – if you want claws, you go for it!) I filed and buffed them using a nail cuboid to make them as smooth as possible.

14971990_10209478869522685_518593506_nFor the base, I used 2 coats of Barry M Nail Paint in Black. After allowing it to dry, I used a Barry M Nail Art Pen in White to draw 3 lines coming from the bottom corner of my thumb nail extending about 2/3 of the way across the nail. I then drew 3 more lines in between, half the length of the original ones. These will make the glitter stand out.

I then poured some glitter nail paint onto a piece of paper, and used a very fine-ended dotting tool to trace the longer white lines with pink glitter (Rimmel Space Dust, an old one but Rimmel London’s Glitter in Disco Diva is very similar), and the shorter lines with the blue glitter.  14972058_10209479005086074_1918295524_n

You could do this on each nail, but I was quite pushed for time so only did 4 nails. To add a bit more sparkle, I dabbed some Barry M Glitterati in Socialite across the top corner of my index finger nail.

This was easy to do and didn’t take me too long, but I’d love to try it in future with different colours and perhaps on more nails!

One comment

  1. Love it! Very simple yet effective 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

